GPS Cycle and Walking Routes

Fred Whitton Challenge

109 miles (175 km)

Follow the route of the Fred Whitton Challenge cycle ride through the Lake District. It is a circular route which starts and ends in Grasmere. There are many steep and challenging climbs with the route visiting the following locations:

  • Ambleside
  • TheKirkstone Pass
  • Glenridding
  • Ullswater
  • Matterdale End
  • Keswick
  • Ennerdale
  • Eskdale
  • Borrowdale
  • TheHonister Pass
  • Buttermere
  • TheNewlands Pass
  • Braithwaite
  • TheWhinlatter Pass
  • Lorton
  • Loweswater
  • Lamplugh
  • Ennerdale Bridge
  • Cold Fell
  • Calder Bridge
  • Gosforth
  • Hardknott Pass
  • Wrynose Pass
  • Little Langdale

Please click here for more information

Fred Whitton Challenge OS Map - Mobile GPS OS Map with Location tracking

Fred Whitton Challenge Open Street Map - Mobile GPS Open Street Map with Location tracking

Cycle Routes and Walking Routes Nearby


Generic placeholder thumbnail

Generic placeholder thumbnail

Photos are copyrighted by their owners

Elevation Profile


GPS Files

GPX File

Fred Whitton Challenge.gpx (right click - 'Save As')

Memory Map Route

Fred Whitton Challenge.mmo (right click - 'Save As')