GPS Cycle and Walking Routes

Fred Whitton Challenge

109 miles (175 km)

Follow the route of the Fred Whitton Challenge cycle ride through the Lake District. It is a circular route which starts and ends in Grasmere. There are many steep and challenging climbs with the route visiting the following locations:

  • Ambleside
  • TheKirkstone Pass
  • Glenridding
  • Ullswater
  • Matterdale End
  • Keswick
  • Ennerdale
  • Eskdale
  • Borrowdale
  • TheHonister Pass
  • Buttermere
  • TheNewlands Pass
  • Braithwaite
  • TheWhinlatter Pass
  • Lorton
  • Loweswater
  • Lamplugh
  • Ennerdale Bridge
  • Cold Fell
  • Calder Bridge
  • Gosforth
  • Hardknott Pass
  • Wrynose Pass
  • Little Langdale

Please click here for more information

Fred Whitton Challenge OS Map - Mobile GPS OS Map with Location tracking

Fred Whitton Challenge Open Street Map - Mobile GPS Map with Location tracking


Onn the Hardknott Pass you will find the noteworthy Woolpack Inn which is a fine place to go for some refreshments after your walk. The inn also contains the Hardknott Cafe. It's located at the top of one of England’s most dramatic valleys, and the bottom of one of its most exciting roads – the Hardknott Pass. The inn has a good menu with cosy fires indoors to warm yourself next to. There's also a nice outdoor area for the summer and it is dog friendly too. You can find the pub on the pass at a postcode of CA19 1TH for your sat navs.

Cycle Routes and Walking Routes Nearby

Elevation Profile


GPS Files

GPX File

Fred Whitton Challenge.gpx (On Desktop:Right Click>'Save As. On Ipad/Iphone:Click and hold>Share>Save to Files')

Memory Map Route

Fred Whitton Challenge.mmo (On Desktop:Right Click>'Save As. On Ipad/Iphone:Click and hold >Share>Save to Files)